Devil Dancer, Founders Brewing Co.

17 Jan

devildancer5
Devil Dancer, what is a triple IPA anyway? You know, I am not entirely sure. I think that a reasonable description is a double IPA with the hops jacked a little bit and the malt jacked a whole lot. So what you get is an Imperial IPA with a lot of maltiness to balance an insane amount of hops. This flows through the three that I’ve tried, Devil Dancer from Founders, Molotov Cocktail from Evil Twin and of course Dogfish Head’s 120 Minute IPA (although not named a triple IPA). Could it be a gimmick? Of course. Do I care? Of course not.

It was actually in a futile search to find Molotov Cocktail (if you have a bottle hit me up, SERIOUSLY) that I decided to try Devil Dancer, and I am glad that I did. It’s fricking expensive, but sometimes you just gotta spring for the good stuff.

Devil Dancer’s color is a deep brown, with rust red hints around the edges. Pretty dark for an IPA, for sure not see through. It’s a good looking beer, and if you’re used to regular IPA it’ll be a bit different.

As for the aroma, I’m immediately getting a good balance, the hops are present, but definitely not overpowering, which for a triple IPA is maybe a bit surprising, but I guess that depends on your definition of the style. Biscuity, clove pine, little nutty smooth aroma if that makes sense.

The mouthfeel is pretty much perfect. Silky smooth, it runs like caramel, delicious. It’s perfectly carbonated as well, just goes down real nice. The body isn’t too thick, but it’s substantial.

As for the taste, it’s a whole story. You really feel the 112 IBUs on this one. If you enjoy bitter beers, then this will deeply satisfy. But it doesn’t end there. The bitterness sticks around from sip to aftertaste, but through that is a wonderful balance of hops and malts. You can feel the ominous presence of the ten hop varieties, but the insane maltiness keeps it at bay. It’s almost as if hops and malt have gone to war, slaying each other with pine, resin and toasty deliciousness. Yeah, I’m going with flavor war as an apt description.

Man, this is a good beer. You really have to be ready for it, but it is superb. I would say it’s not for a casual drinker though. There’s a lot here, and if you aren’t a fan of powerful and bitter beers it may be too much for you. I wouldn’t let that stop you though. The $18 for a four-pack may slow you down, but it’s worth it. Really worth it. I think I’m going to get a pack of this once a year to savor. Chapeau Founders, chapeau.

 

Leave a Reply

