Idiot Farm, an Imperial IPA

7 Jan

Idiot Farm. First off, it’s a great name for an IPA. I don’t why, it just is. I first heard of Karben 4 a couple years ago when they opened, but haven’t had an opportunity to try anything from them until they recently started wider distribution. I’m definitley a fan of their packaging. Idiot Farm is a pretty entertaining landscape for sure.

The pour of Idiot Farm is visually exciting, a beautiful hazy golden amber color. It is quite hazy for an IPA with lots of apparent sediment floating around. It looks quite different from most IPAs that I have imbibed.

The aroma hints of greatness, I must say. A malty hoppy swirl of flavors tell of deliciousness within. Normally beers like this lose the maltiness in the smell, but this one starts off with a balance and then gives way to hoppiness as it should be. Earthy pine and resin accompany a touch of pineapple. It’s almost as much fun sniffing as it is drinking.

Okay that’s a lie, it’s more fun to drink, but it is a great smell. Idiot Farm has a perfect mouthfeel for a double IPA. It’s fairly heavy, a good thickness to support the powerful flavor. It’s well carbonated, delicious bubbles all over.

The flavor is perfect. I’ve seen some mixed reviews on this one, and maybe I’m too easy on beers, but I can’t find a flaw anywhere. It seems at first that it’s going to be an overpowering death by hops, but the bitterness swirls again with malty support and it’s like a Sufjan Stevens concert in my mouth. There is a detectable note of fruit underlying the earthy wonder.

This is a great double IPA. One of the better ones I’ve hd I feel. Of course, I always suffer a bit from the “My favorite beer is the one I’m drinking right now” bias, but nonetheless, Idiot Farm is fantastic. From start to finish, it’s almost perfect. Highly recommended from the beercyclist (=

 

Leave a Reply

