New Belgium Review: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ale

4 Jan

cccda3

Well, today on the blog after a long hiatus, I am reviewing New Belgium and Ben & Jerry’s current collaboration, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ale. I’d been searching for it for a while and sort of accidentally stumbled upon it. I was at Fox River House in Appleton (a most fine establishment) for our an annual resolution ride. You know, ringing in the new year with bikes and beer as is apropo, and there it was on tap. I was so excited I had two, and then found it at the local grocer! You either love this one, or you hate even the idea of it, so what could make for a better review? Let’s get to it!

 Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ale pours like a lager. A pure crisp apple juice gold with nice light bubbles in the center. It’s crystal clear. I didn’t get much head on this particular pour, but previous pours have had nice tan head that left really nice lacing throughout.

The smell is, well, it’s cookie dough. But it’s also beer! Strong notes of vanilla and brown sugar are immediately noticeable, with a malty caramel background. Just the smell of this astounds me as to how much it smells like actual chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream.

The mouthfeel is excellent, a solid medium ale presence with lively carbonation. The color is deceiving, as it presents like a lager, but definitely feels like a good ale.

As for the flavor, you really have to give this one a chance. Personally I find it fabulous. I’ve always been a fan of eating raw cookie dough (haven’t gotten sick yet…) and this is just like it in beer form. First you’re hit with vanilla, and brown sugar, and the nice thickness brings to mind an almost doughy texture, but there’s enough malt to keep it tasting like beer. I don’t like things that are superbly sweet, but this beer doesn’t cross the line for me. It does come close, but it keeps enough beerness inside. I friggin love this stuff, seriously. I have been wanting to try it for a while, and I’m so glad I finally found it! Absolutely delicious!

Anyway, I have a bit of a soapbox moment with this beer. Not everyone is going to love it. It wasn’t too sweet for me, but it will be for some people. But really, it’s mostly vanilla, which weirdly enough, vanilla is one of my favorite flavors. There’s a lot of silly ripping on this beer, but I think there’s way crazier stuff out there, and one should really try this before knocking it! That being said, drink what you love, and if this isn’t your cup of tea, move on to the next. Happy beering everyone!

2 Responses to “New Belgium Review: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ale”

  1. Paul Kordus January 4, 2017 at 2:15 am #

    Nice write up your quite the aficionado !!

    • Adam Koenig January 4, 2017 at 3:27 am #

      Thanks! Going to try and post more consistently this year!

Leave a Reply

