Arrogant Bastard Ale, a review

6 Jul

20160702_ArrogantBastard1

Arrogant Bastard Ale

Well, I’m pretty sure I did this on my other site that I lost. A wonderful part of my being pretty depressed during a lot of the last couple years was that I let all my websites go. I haven’t been able to find any of my backups. Ahh, ce la vie, right? Anyways, since Stone finally decided to distribute to Wisconsin, [AMAZING!] I had to make sure I did this one again.

First off, I’ve stopped noting packaging or design in my reviews unless it stands out, and Stone certainly does. After having this a couple years, I’m not sure how I feel about the whole “You’re not Worthy” thing. It’s really tongue in cheek though, playing on the whole craft beer snobbery thing, and I can totally get behind that.

And for the beer. This ale looks good, a solid deep copper with reddish orange hints throughout. A nice head too, thick and creamy. It doesn’t leave much for lacing, but it looks gorgeous anyway.

The aroma is pretty solid as well, quite malt-forward, toasty and thick. It has hints of hoppiness, but overall seems pretty balanced, a raisniny base with sweet caramel tones. It’s a pretty good smelling beer.

The mouthfeel is just as a strong ale should be, thick and full with bouncy carbonation. Not much else to say, it’s solid.

Arrogant Bastard’s aroma gives way to a pronounced and balanced flavor. Malty tastiness collides with a slight sweetness and a spattering of hoppiness to round out a solid mouth party. This is another one of those beers that starts to blossom as it warms up a bit, almost like a flower, the flavor just grows. There’s a caramel malty punch, balanced with a bready backing followed by a pleasant bitter aftertaste. There’s quite a bit going on,

As American Strong Ales tend to be hard to nail down, it’s tough to really say what is a good representation, but I will go out on a limb and say that this is an exemplary example. Bastard is tough enough to satisfy and enough alcohol to buzz, without being overwhelming. Try it… NOW. If you feel worthy of course.

 

20160702_ArrogantBastard5

20160702_ArrogantBastard2

20160702_ArrogantBastard3

Leave a Reply

