Milwaukee Brewing Company review: Polish Moon Milk Stout

3 Aug

Hey! This is the first review I have ever done for an MKE brew. I’ve had several of their beers, but only on tap, I never managed to buy a sixer or anything, and that’s a shame. I have not tasted anything from them that was short of exceptional.

Anyways, today we have their Polish Moon milk stout up for review. I have to start by saying that I am suffering through a summer cold, so my senses are not operating at %100, but I needed a good stout in me to help beat this cold (=

Anyways, this beer poured beautifully. I probably could have let it develop a bit more head, but what was there was nice and foamy, and this beer is dark! A gorgeous dark espresso color. The head didn’t linger much, but I kinda poured it thatway, so I won’t fault it.

The mouthfeel of this beer as great. I’ve only had one other milk stout (I’ll let you guess), and they’ve both had that extra creaminess, that really brings a great aspect to the thickness. It goes down smooth and soothing, mm mmmm delicious (=

As for the taste, it’s pretty good. It’s not one of the greatest beers I’ve had, but it is complex enough to warrant attention. I tasted chocolate, hints of coffee and chocolate in a delicious malty character.

It’s a good beer! I’d try it again, and would like to find it on tap sometime. With how many different beers I’ve had, and ones I like to try, I don’t know if I’ll come back to it, so I guess it doesn’t stay on the permanent shelf, but it’s definitely worth a buy if you’re looking for a stout with something a little different.

MKEMilkStout-19

 

MKEMilkStout-20

 

MKEMilkStout-21

Leave a Reply

