A surefire classic, Bell’s Two Hearted Ale

16 Jul

The first time I had this beer was at Old Chicago in Green Bay. I’ll tell you, if there was one restaurant I’d want in Appleton it’d be Old Chicago. Some of the best pizza I’ve ever had, and they have a plethora of spectacular beers, including a great rotating draft selection. When I had Two Hearted for the first time it blew me away, and this time is no different.

I got a six-pack, and the ten bucks feels a bit expensive, but this beer is worth it. I don’t know if I’m a huge fan of the label, but I love that Bell’s puts there time into making great beer and not just packaging it cleverly. It harkens to sitting on a tranquil lake, enjoying the hops, and not really caring whether or not you actually catch any fish (=

It pours a beautiful golden haze with this perfect foamy head. It reminds me of that perfect micro-foam on a well steamed latte. It looks amazing, and it smells just as great. It has the typical IPA aromas, slightly piney, with a hint of that wonderfully tart grapefruit presence as well.

This beer tastes amazing. It’s everything a great IPA should be, powerfully hoppy with great malty balance and a hanging bitterness  that leaves the taste buds desiring more. The mouthfeel is strong, smooth and resiny. It’s not one to be drank quickly, that’s for sure; one sip fills the mouth for a good amount of time.

Two Hearted is something of a masterpiece. Of the classic IPAs I’ve tried this one is right up there, and despite the price is one that I will continue to buy, and possibly may even taste at a brewery tour yet this summer! It’s midsummer and it’s hot, you should go buy a pack of this!

2Hearted-1

2Hearted-3

2Hearted-2

2Hearted-4

Leave a Reply

