150 Miles

10 Apr

Well, I’m going to get a bit personal on the bog today. You may or may not know, but my family has been struck by cancer a couple of times. More specifically my wife’s family. In 1999, Alicia’s cousin Dana passed from Leukemia in her lymph nodes. Alicia was really close to her, and it was quite a blow to her whole family. Alicia’s dad, my father-in-law Gary started a Relay-for-Life team in her honor “Dana’s Hikers for Hope”.

A couple of years ago, Gary was diagnosed with cancer. He had a rare form of carcinoid tumor affecting his colon. I don’t know all the details, but we ended up having a full year more with him than was expected, but he did pass this least year, not long before Christmas.

People react to cancer in different ways, forming relays, starting foundations. I have finally found a way to do some small part on my own. This summer I am partaking in the Scenic Shore 150 2012. It’s a 150 mile bike ride over the course of two days, starting in Mequon, WI and ending in Sturgeon Bay, WI. It’s put on by the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I think it’s cool that I get to do something I love, and raise money to fight something horrible.

I have to register yet, but this is something I’m committing to, and I will have to raise at least $300 in order to participate. I’ll post updates of my training, and if anyone wishes to contribute let me know and I’ll get you the necessary information. Here’s to a whole lot of bike riding (=

2 Responses to “150 Miles”

  1. koenig April 10, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    We’ll definitely help!!!! Love dad and mum

  2. Stimpy April 11, 2012 at 3:46 am #

    lemme know the details on supporting you, homeboy; I’d gladly contribute. Btw, you really oughtta do an entry on Rolling Rock. Not sayin’ I’m proud of it, just sayin’ I’m drinking it.

Leave a Reply

