Getting Lost

4 Apr

There’s something about getting lost on a bicycle that’s entirely different from getting lost in a car.

Well, I can’t say I was really lost, just took a wrong turn on my way home from work, really no big deal. In any case, it’s amazing how much different my attitude is.

Little bit of honesty, I have a bit of an anger problem at times. It really comes out when I get lost while driving. I get upset… than I get mad. And , lastly I get furious and whiny and stupid. It’s ugly.

To be perfectly truthful, when I get lost behind the wheel it’s probably me at my worst; swearing, pounding the wheel, cursing the skies. Yeah. Ugly. Cuz when I get lost in a car, all I think about is where the next exit is, and how much longer it’s going to take me, and what if my E tank runs out before I find a gas station.

Biking is a whole different story.

Tonight on my way home I turned too early, and I wound up flying down a hill. 3 minutes later as I was walking my bike back up that same hill I thought about how calm I was that I couldn’t find another way across the river. I found a way not to take home from work. I explored the riverfront, felt the wind in my face, and the fact I had gone off track was nothing but pleasing to me.

I felt at my best, like I was an explorer, conquering the world on two wheels a chromo-steel frame and some chain links. I didn’t care about getting home, just about finding another hill to pedal down and feel wind in my face.

There’s something about getting lost on a bicycle that’s entirely different from getting lost in a car.

Leave a Reply

