Sierra Nevade Bigfoot 2012

16 Mar

Wow, it’s been way too long since I’ve posted. Life has been a little crazy, but then again when isn’t it? And it’s not like I’ve ever been great at consistently blogging. Well, I enjoy it anyway, so yeah.

And another wow. This beer, it’s one to remember. Sierra Nevada’s 2012 Bigfoot, their Barley wine. First of all, the design. Sierra Nevada is great, it has that classic look with the banner, and I love the feel. The sasquatch hiding in the woods is pretty epic if you ask me (= I love that there’s a beer named after Bigfoot.

It pours smooth, and should probably have a bigger head than you see in the picture, but I’m pouring from a bottle here, not a tap. In any case it’s a nice foamy head. The beer itself you can see is a reddish-brown, pretty clear, not hazy.

It smells hoppy and strong, and has a slightly sweet pine aroma. It smells great, and fills your nostrils, builds a great anticipation.

Upon first sip, it starts smooth and fills your mouth, and the bitterness pulls your pallet. I’m not even sure how to describe that, it’s like your taste buds are being pulled like puppet strains if that makes any sense. The beer takes over. The flavor stays, wonderfully hoppy, and almost IPA quality but with deep flavors, very complex, with a thick almost stouty texture.

Not only do I recommend this beer, I will be getting more, and trying it each year that Sierra Nevada puts it out. Amazing beer. Oh, and I felt pretty good after just one (=

Leave a Reply

