New Glarus Black Top: “Drink Indigenous”

6 Jan

Well, I am working with my wife on changing our diets, and eating healthy. I’m doing The Abs Diet, and am working towards the six weeks and am going to see how that works. I do need to figure out how to work beer into this diet though. Obviously with my aspirations of being a home brewer, and even writing this blog, cutting beer completely is not an option. Well, this Black Top is the first alcohol I’ve had this week period, so I figure if I only drink enough to keep the blog going I’ll be good.

I’m really looking forward to the day when I can showcase my own beer on here, and document the process, don’t worry it shouldn’t be too long (=

So anyways, on to the main event!

New Glarus: Black Top, an american style black india pale ale. Wow. Black IPA’s are a relatively new beer, and are just starting to gain traction in the beer world. I am a fan of everything New Glarus, and had to try this out when I saw it on sale.

First of all, I love the hand-drawn style of New Glarus’ labels. They have a solid continuity between all their beer labels, and I think it adds to the allure. I love the big bubbly letters of Black Top, to go with the big flavor, and the road floating off, like some hidden mountain pass.

This beer pours real nice and thick with a small creamy head that dissipates quickly. It smells hoppy, with deep mollases overtones, hints of chocolate and coffee and a little bit of the citrus that often comes with an IPA. The texture is very smooth,and brings a nice bitterness, but stays smooth and crisp throughout.

The taste is phenomenal, it’s the first BIPA I’ve had, and it brings wonderful dark flavors to the normal citrusy hop. The taste is rich, with hoppy molasses, and chocolate with just a hint of that citrus. This beer combines the dark malty flavors common with a stout and the hoppy bitterness of an IPA, all in all a wonderful flavor combination.

The finish is also wonderful, keeping the bitterness but not lingering too long or being overpowering. It’s a solid aftertaste, finishing off the beer the proper way.

I highly recommend this beer, I know people love IPA’s as a summer beer, but this really goes well in the cold weather, I love having bitter hops to warm me in the cold weather. Final analysis=amazing. I love hoppy beers, I love the rolling bitterness, this one doesn’t overwhelm and it definitely does not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

