Firenze: GL5000, project bike

3 Jan

Well, I purchased a ‘new’ bicycle. I was at Goodwill on the west side of Green Bay, and found this Firenze for $20. After some internet research, they’re not the greatest frames in the world, and apparently some shops don’t like working on them, but for 20 buckaroos I don’t mind putting some time in. I need some more practice with derailleur¬†and general tweaking, so it should be a fun little project to keep me busy. I believe the first step shall be taking her apart and doing a thorough cleaning, I’ll post more pics when I get there. Thanks for looking.

3 Responses to “Firenze: GL5000, project bike”

  1. Monica August 13, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    I just picked one up all original it doesn’t have the water bottle holder or the fenders and rack on it but is a nice little bike this one doesn’t even look like it has seen the roads. 18 speed.

    • Adam Koenig August 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

      The biggest bummer I had about this bike was losing the water bottle that came with it )= It was one of those vintage ones, little smaller. I decided it would be a good idea to close it on my helmet, I don’t know, guess I was trying to be cool. Anyway, I broke the whole nozzle off. Lesson learned, close bottles gently. How’s the bike treating you?

  2. johnnysachu@ yahoo.com May 17, 2015 at 1:27 am #

    I have one and enjoy the heck out of it. It is a mid level to low end bike but the steering is quick and precise and cruises comfortably. I have mine stripped down to a single speed running 40-16 gears.

Leave a Reply

