Beer Review: Lazy Mutt Farmhouse Ale from Minhas Brewery

12 Aug

Well, it’s time for my second beer review!
This week, we have an interesting brew to say the least. It took me a bit to come to a conclusion with this one. I should say, my first taste came while on my friend’s sailboat on a gorgeous summer day, and these circumstances could make anything taste good. That being said, I have mixed feelings about Lazy Mutt Farmhouse Ale, produced by Minhas Brewery in Monroe, WI.

At first I thought this was my first farmhouse ale, but it turns out that New Glarus Spotted Cow (review coming) is also technically a farmhouse ale, that is basically a pale ale. I did inadvertently see some other reviews while trying to find more information about what exactly is in it, but i will try to stay unbiased and go by my own experience.

Lazy Mutt is an interesting beer. Upon my first sip, it feels citrusy and wheaty. I’m honestly not sure if there is wheat,  as I could not find a good description, but it definitely tastes as such. As for the somewhat sour citrus flavor, it’s not uninviting, but it really doesn’t seem to go anywhere. It’s not a bad flavor, but once the citrus wears off, there’s no aftertaste, no bitterness and no real complexity. I may have thought of hints of nuttiness, but I didn’t notice that in any but the first bottle (yeah I had a few today).  The beer is quite light and thin, body is pretty much nonexistent, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I feel like it needed more oomph, some other flavor, just to add to the experience.

One thing that really does stand out is the packaging. It kind of leads to a bit of a disappointment as the design is definitely better than the beer itself. I love the logo of the dog splayed out laying down, and the writings on the packaging are really quite clever and silly. The product just doesn’t quite add up to the packaged hype.

All in all, it wasn’t a bad beer in my opinion (other reviews will differ I’m sure you’ll notice), it’s good for what it is, that is a very light chill summer beer. It’s probably not a beer I will buy again or really recommend, but if you find yourself on a sailboat in 80 degree weather with a good headwind I’m just saying there are worse things you could be drinking (=

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

