Beer review: Bell’s Porter

29 Jul

Well, here’s the 2nd reason I wanted to start this blog. I’m not a heavy drinker, but living in Wisconsin I have definitely developed a taste for beer over the past few years. I know I can be a bit of a snob, but I just really enjoy it, and the more I discover, the more I love. I am really leaning more and more into the craft brew side of the spectrum, especially after discovering local Green Bay breweries Titletown Brewery, and Hinterland Brewing. They make some amazing beers, and as many of you know there are some other wonderful breweries here in Wisconsin. I just can’t imagine sticking to the normal bud light, or miller light when there are so many options out there!

Now, I know I’m definitely not the only person reviewing beer, and I may not have all the language figured out, but I hope I can bring a little insight, and help you know where (at least in Green Bay) to find some quality brews!

The first beer I’m gonna tackle is Bell’s Porter. Bell’s is a michigan brewery, and I discovered them recently after having their Oberon in Minneapolis (a beer I will get to in the future!).

First, the design. I would be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge this aspect of enjoying a beer. I’m not going to turn down a beer based on poor design, but a good one does add to the experience for me. Bell’s Porter has a nice label, straightforward and simplistic. The colors fit the beer well, earthy and calm. I also enjoy the little ditty on the back “Enjoy it anytime, like now for instance”.

This Porter is truly a fantastic beer. It smells pretty malty, almost chocolatey, definitely enticing. Upon the first sip, it’s very smooth, fairly light for a Porter, but it really develops. The flavors roll around in your mouth, bringing hues of chocolate, nutty overtones and a slight hint of black licorice. It finishes with a slightly bitter aftertaste, and as with many porters and stouts I have enjoyed, it seems a bit much for the first couple sips, but once you get into it, the flavor builds until you realize the glass is empty, and you need another (=

Like I mentioned, it is fairly light for a Porter, but the great flavor fills the mouth, and the 5.6%ABV actually packs a decent punch. 2 of these is a great sitting, and will definitely last you an evening. Overall, if you’re looking for a great Porter that isn’t going to knock you down, but provide you with a great flavor, try this out! I found it at Festival Foods in Green Bay, and I’ll update with other places that I see it in stock.

And now for some photos (

Leave a Reply

